Wednesday, November 18, 2020

#MSDyn365BC Reduce Data Stored in Business Central Tenant - Part 1?

 Hi all,

We all understand that our customer databases size increases as we use Dynamics NAV or Business Central. We as partners are not the right person to suggest you which data is important for your business.

At same time we understand that there is a size limit in Business Central Online.

We as customers & partners need to start thinking about data that we can remove to reduce our database sizes.

Microsoft is providing us with tools and suggestion how to keep our database size small. In this series of articles we will talk about those suggestions and if possible I would recommend to start discussion with your partner to reduce the database size.

I would recommend to follow these steps - Even you are using Business Central (on-Prem) and not planning to upgrade to BC Online.

There are multiple benefits of Reducing the size of your database - 
  • Prevents reaching the size limit when using Business Central online.
  • Improves runtime performance.
  • Improves database management processes, like backing up and restoring databases.
All These measures are typically done by an application administrator or developer.

Delete unused companies

If you have companies that are no longer needed, such as test companies or the Demo company, delete these companies.

I know that we think that no one keep those companies, but believe it or not I have seen customers have and want to keep those Demo / Test Companies during Upgrades. 

If you want to have a Demo Database from Microsoft or Test Companies then create a separate database.

Delete documents

Over time, the database will accumulate historical data for documents, like invoiced purchase orders. If these documents are no longer needed, delete them.

We as partners understand that customer have to keep posted document for a defined period of time which vary from region and business area. But After the defined period you can delete those documents.

While deleting Posted documents - Business Central checks that you have fully invoiced the deleted purchase orders. You cannot delete orders that you have not fully invoiced and received.

For Deleting Posted Documents, a New setup field is added in Sales & Receivable Setup and Purchase & Payable Setup.

The Field is - Allow Document Deletion Before (as shown below).

The Data Specifies if and when posted sales documents can be deleted. If you enter a date, posted sales documents with a posting date on or after this date cannot be deleted.



You also may have Documents which are fully invoiced like Sales Order, Purchase order, Sales Return orders, Purchase Return orders, Blanket Sales orders & Blanket Purchase orders based on how you use system.

Business Central provides you Batches which you can use to Delete these Documents which are no longer required.




You can use these batches to cleanup unused data in the system.

In Next article in this series We will discuss about other possibilities that we have to keep our database size within permissible limit.

Stay connected.

Regards,
Saurav Dhyani
www.sauravdhyani.com

No comments:

Post a Comment